top of page

College Life


So for all of you out there who attend college, you could probably back me up on this. There are just some day where you don't like doing anything. Either class is boring or you don't like the people/professor in it, or you just plain don't feel like socializing or being productive. Those days hit me on the most unexpected days, and usually on days when I need to be doing something productive.

It's not a very pretty cycle, you know?

Today I just didn't want to do anything. When my alarm went off this morning, all I wanted to do was roll back over and go back to sleep. However, I still went to all three of my classes today.

The first class was alright; I have an apocalyptic class, so most of our discussion was talking about aliens taking over Earth. I would've been interested, but the story we read wasn't really interesting, so it made me feel sleepy during class, and the only way I could distract myself was by making funny jokes to the girls next to me. They were great because we all joked together, and it got me through the hour and a half.

My advanced creative writing class was absolutely fantastic though. It gave me such great energy discussing the story we read, which was pretty legit: our professor wrote it and had it published, so talking about it with him was so nice because he knew all the ins and outs. And after a great discussion, we did a writing exercise that made all of us really think outside the box and get creative. Reading my response out loud and then hearing others read theirs out loud was great. It was such a fun environment and everyone was laughing together because of our ridiculously insane stories.

However, all my energy I had in my creative writing class was completely smashed when I entered government. I'm not the biggest fan of government to begin with, but our professor is a little awkward and weird when it comes to teaching, so it makes it even harder to pay attention to him. Plus I didn't really care about the subject matter he was teaching at the moment. Several times during the hour and a half I was in class, I could feel myself dozing off, and the only way I kept myself awake was by doodling on my notes. It was hard to keep myself focused and I felt completely drained after I left that class.

It's always awful to force myself to go to certain classes, and this semester there's two classes I have to force myself to keep going to: rhetorical theory and government. They just aren't my cup of tea, but I need them for my major, so I have to truck through it.

Luckily, I only have both classes 2 times a week, so my boredom is kept to a minimum.

Today was a day where forcing myself to be polite and social to be able to go to class was hard, but my creative writing class made it worth it. So you know, it was worth doing all that work because I got something great out of it.

Keep striving to find something that keeps you positive and going forward, because trust me guys, there's always something in your day that is positive and makes everything else worth it. And that's a promise!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page