top of page

Where's My War Room?


The movie released in 2015 was a great success, yet I had never seen War Room until the other night. If you haven't seen this movie yet, I highly recommend watching it! It is an absolutely fantastic film with real life lessons, real problems, and amazing lessons of faith. This Christian film left me in tears (no surprise there) and in deep thought. The power of prayer, of God, and of our own actions brought me into a perspective I needed to be in.

And it got me thinking: where's my war room?

In the movie, this war room is a critical place for these people. It's where they go to fight - not against God - but against evil. They pray, they write, they hang things up to physically see what they are praying for, and they are in there all the time, fighting and battling against the enemy.

While I've always done my best to have time alone with God to pray, there's a difference between alone time with God, studying His word, praying to Him to open your heart and mind, and things like that. Actually asking God to fight for you, to intentionally pray for other people, for God to shape their lives and open their hearts, and to write things down to physically remind you of what you're fighting for, is completely different.

Both would be amazing. I love my alone time with God. I love reading His word and praying to Him. But I can't remember the last time I asked God to fight for me. Of course, I've asked him to help me out, to help other people out, and to care for those I care for, but to actually ask God to fight a battle for me? I don't remember the last time I did that.

If we were to combine both sides of it, how different would our lives look like? I know mine would be completely different in a good way. I need to start asking God to fight for me, to help me fight, and to let me know who I'm really fighting.

I believe the idea of a 'war room' is incredible and very inspiring. To have your own space, clear of all distractions, where you go in, you fight, you pray, and you read. To put up your prayers, your worries, your favorite verses...it all sounds so amazing. And I know other people believe it's amazing too. But if it sounds so incredible, why don't we do it?

What holds us back from creating a war room? Because we have to realize first that we need one. We need God to fight our battles, to help us fight back, to help us fight the correct way. Until we realize the need for a war room, we won't ever get a war room, no matter how great it sounds to us.

In the movie, it talks about gaining victory in probably one of the most counter-intuitive ways: If we want victory, we first have to surrender. Sounds strange doesn't it? Yes, it does. Surrendering doesn't usually equate to victory. But that's in human standards. In God's eyes, us surrendering to Him grants us the ultimate victory. We can win anything and everything, as long as we surrender to His will, His laws, and His grace.

If you think about it, it's actually really amazing.

Now I'm going to pick up my prayer game, because I know I need some more help asking God to fight for me. So where is my War Room? It's right here. And I'm getting ready to fight. I hope and pray that you are too.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page