top of page

Birth Of the Stars


So last semester in my creative writing class, we were all asked to come up with our own myths or legends. I thought it was a pretty interesting challenge, and the myth I made up is something I am kind of proud of. I had it stored away in my files for the past few months, and decided I'd go ahead and share it! Let me know what y'all think of this myth!

The Sun and Moon always gazed at one another. Always apart, always separate, but longed to be together.

The Moon, quiet and gentle, felt anguish at the fact they couldn’t be together. She longed to be near her lover; her fortitude faded with time. Her glow began to grow weaker, and the Sun saw his lover from afar, suffering from their separation. He could bear it no longer, and chose to act.

The Sun drew closer to the Moon. They finally met. However, when they got together, chaos descended on the Earth below them: the one they swore to protect. And the Moon, being so close to the Sun, was violently burned, her entire body cascading red.

The incident drove them away from one another.

“I can’t hurt you,” Said the Sun. “Hurting you hurts me.” He grieved, still longing to be near her. He wanted to be able to see the Moon, to hear her voice, and to see her soft glow.

“We can’t be together,” The Moon agonized. “But I still desire to see and be with you.”

The darkness of the void was too much for them to bear. Only seeing one another as the Sun went down, and as the Moon came up, was too difficult for the lovers. They needed a way to be connected to each other; a way that wouldn’t cause pain, suffering, or chaos.

One night, the Moon’s quiet, loving presence seeped into the dark sky. If this can reach him, she thought. He will know I’m here.

The Sun felt her quietness and responded with something of his own. The brilliant light he treasured was sent out into the void. Let her feel my warmth. He pleaded. Let her know I care.

In the darkness of the night, the two’s feelings collided. The quiet softness of the Moon attached to the fiery light of the Sun. An infinite amount of these small mixtures formed through the sky, dazzling the once empty heavens. A soft glow, both quiet and bright, filled the sky, providing light.

When the two saw what they had created, they wept with joy. The Sun would always know where the Moon was. The Moon would always know the Sun loved her. They named their creation ‘Stars’, for they were born of love, and were a light in the dark to show they were still there. The Sun and Moon knew these Stars would be a beacon of their love.

For as long as they could see the stars, they knew they were connected.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page